Submission

NATIONAL CAPITAL COMMISSION COMMISSION DE LA CAPITALE NATIONALE		No.	2020-S07
		То	Board of Directors
DECISION		Date	2020-04-23
ect/Title			
ry Committees Membership -	ACPDR		
nary			
rms. The advisory committee o of directors in January 2020, w	charters we vith the crea	re ameno tion of a	led following approval by the process for reappointment, the
Summary			
plicable.			
mmendation			
31, 2023; Notwithstanding section 4.1 of to the ACPDR from April 23, 2 The following persons be reap March 31, 2022: * Clément Demers T	f the ACPDF 2020 to Marc opointed to t Third term	R Charte ch 31, 20	r, Vincent Asselin be appointed 23;
 Pamela Sweet S The following persons be reap March 31, 2023: Scott Burns S 	Second Tern opointed to t	-	DR from April 23, 2020, to
	COMMISSION DE LA CAPITALE DECISION ect/Title ry Committees Membership nary rms of all members of the com rms. The advisory committee of of directors in January 2020, w on of the membership, and the Summary plicable. mmendation Anne McIlroy be named Chair 31, 2023; Notwithstanding section 4.1 of to the ACPDR from April 23, 2 The following persons be reap March 31, 2022: * Clément Demers T * Cecelia Paine S * Pamela Sweet S The following persons be reap March 31, 2023:	Commission de la CAPITALE NATIONALE DECISION ect/Title ry Committees Membership - ACPDR mary rms of all members of the committee expir rms. The advisory committee charters were of directors in January 2020, with the creat on of the membership, and the areas of ex- Summary plicable. mmendation Anne McIlroy be named Chairperson of the 31, 2023; Notwithstanding section 4.1 of the ACPDF to the ACPDR from April 23, 2020 to Marco The following persons be reappointed to to March 31, 2022: * Clément Demers Third term * Cecelia Paine Second term * Pamela Sweet Second Term The following persons be reappointed to to March 31, 2023:	NATIONAL CAPITAL COMMISSION To COMMISSION DE LA CAPITALE NATIONALE To DECISION Date ect/Title Dect/Title ry Committees Membership - ACPDR Index nary Index rms of all members of the committee expired on Marms. The advisory committee charters were amend of directors in January 2020, with the creation of a on of the membership, and the areas of expertise for a sector of the membership, and the areas of expertise for a sector of the membership, and the areas of expertise for a sector of the membership, and the areas of expertise for a sector of the membership, and the areas of expertise for a sector of the membership, and the areas of expertise for a sector of the membership, and the areas of expertise for a sector of the membership, and the areas of expertise for a sector of the membership, and the areas of expertise for a sector of the membership, and the areas of expertise for a sector of the ACPD sector of the following section 4.1 of the ACPDR Charter to the ACPDR from April 23, 2020 to March 31, 20 The following persons be reappointed to the ACPD march 31, 2022: * Clément Demers * Cecelia Paine * Second term * Pamela Sweet * Second Term The following persons be reappointed to the ACPE March 31, 2023: Second Term

Submitted by:
Original signed by Véronique de Passillé
Name
Signature

1. Strategic Priorities

Guiding Principle – Organizational Excellence

2. Authority

NCC By-laws, section 3.2.2

3. Context

Selection of the Chairperson

Pursuant to section 5 of the ACPDR charter, the skills and knowledge prerequisites for an effective chairperson were considered.

Appointment of a New Member

As established under the Governance Framework Review and following the recent amendments to the committee's charter, there should be at least two (2) architects, two (2) landscape architects and two (2) urban planners on the committee. An initial internal assessment of the current membership was completed by the Chief Executive Officer, the Commission Secretary and the Capital Planning Branch. Once this step was completed, and in consultation with the Chairperson of the Committee and the Chairperson of the Board, a preference for a francophone landscape architect was identified in order to properly complete the current membership of the committee. Notwithstanding section 4.1 of the committee charter which requires that a nominating committee be formed, the Commission Secretary sought recommendations from the current Chairperson of the Committee. This modified process allowed the NCC to move quickly and efficiently to identify and recommend a strong candidate for appointment.

Reappointment of Members

A grid was developed by the Secretariat in consultation with the Federal Land Use, Design and Transactions Approval (FLUDTA) and Long-Range Planning teams in order to evaluate the candidacies for reappointment. Terms were staggered in order to facilitate the rotation and recruitment in the next round of appointments.

4. Options Analysis

Not applicable.

5. Financial Details

Not applicable.

6. Opportunities and Expected Results

It is expected that the committee function at its full capacity with the proposed membership.

7. Risks and Mitigation Measures

Not applicable.

8. Consultations and Communications

The FLUDTA and Long-Range Planning teams were consulted to give advice on the reappointment process.

The current committee chairperson was consulted to give a list of most prominent professionals in the field of landscape architecture.

9. Next Steps

Following approval by the Board of Directors, the selected member will be contacted and notified of his appointment. An advisory committee orientation process will follow.

10. List of Appendices

Appendix 1 – Biography of New Member

11. Authors of the Submission

Véronique de Passillé, Chief of Staff and Commission Secretary Chantal Bédard, Chief, Commission Secretariat Caroline Bied, Committee Secretary

Appendix 1

Mr. Asselin is a graduate of the University of Montreal (Bachelor of Landscape Architecture, 1978; Master in Applied Sciences - Landscape Architecture, 1995). He is a principal and founding member of WAA Inc. (Montreal), WAA International, Ltd. (Shanghai) and WAA Design Sdn. Bhd. in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Mr. Asselin has been involved for over 35 years in the Québec and the Canadian professional associations, having served as president of both the Québec Association of Landscape Architects (AAPQ) and the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (CSLA). A Fellow of the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (FCSLA) since 1993, he has made ample contributions as a member of numerous AAPQ and CSLA committees and task forces. After serving as Vice-President for many years, Mr. Asselin was elected President of the LACF-FAPC (Landscape Architecture Canada Foundation) in June 2015. He also presently serves as the "international expert in urban planning and landscape" for the Shanghai Science and Technology Committee (STC), an organizing body that advises the City of Shanghai on planning and sustainable design practices. In addition to his active practice and volunteer efforts, Mr. Asselin is a guest speaker at the Landscape Architecture program at the University of Montréal.

Among his many accolades, Mr. Asselin received the Magnolia Silver Medal Award for "extraordinary contribution to the City of Shanghai". More recently, in June of 2012, he was honoured by the Premier of Québec with the prestigious title of "Chevalier de l'Ordre National du Québec" (Knight of the National Order of Québec, "CQ"). The Order recognizes the excellence and merit of "outstanding individuals who have helped increase Québec's renown and left a strong, lasting mark on all or part of Québec". This honour is the highest award the Québec Government can bestow.